Our History

Historical Background

Yumdum Teacher's College, founded in 1952, became Yundam College in 1955, when it was realised that its scope sould be extended for effective use of human and material resources.

In line with this new perception, the then Gambia School of Nursing and Midwifery, the School of Agriculture and the school of Public Health, hitherto separate institutions, were merged with the Teacher Training College into an institution renamed Gambia College, by an Act of Parliament passed in 1978. This Act also provided for a Board of Governors whose membership was determined by the Department of State for Education (DoSE), in consultation with the Departments of State for Health (DoSH) and Agriculture (DoSA). The Board maintained a supervisory role ensuring the appropriate interpretation and enactment of policies.

This merger led to the college operating from two campuses, as the School based in Banjul – named the School of Nursing and Midwifery. Whereas the Schools of Agriculture, Education and Public Health are located at the campus in Brikama, Headquarters of this fast growing institution.

National policy changed bring in a shift of emphasis, which culminated in a new Gambia College Act passed in 1989 but assented to in 1990. This Act required the College to provide further education in the Gambia. A Council was therefore establish with greater autonomy to enable it to accomplish this task.

The list of former and present Principals of the college
Name Nationality From To
D.W Grieve British 1949 1950
S.L Burk British 1950 1953
G. O'Halloran British 1953 1954
G. Davies British 1954 1955
J.S Malone British 1955 1958
G.S Smith British 1958 1959
D.H Blakely British 1959 1960
P. Cavage British 1960 1964
C.W Cole Gambian 1964 1967
J. Griege British 1967 1971
M.M Jagne Gambian 1971 1973
D.A Nicholas British 1973 1978
G.W.L Thomas Gambian 1978 1982
S.M Adu-Ampoma Ghanian 1982 1984
N.S.Z Njie Gambian 1984 1991
Jenung Manneh Gambian 1991 2004
Dr. A.B Senghore Gambian 2004 2009
Prof Muhammed Kah Gambian 2010 2014
Mr Aboubacar Jallow Gambian 2015 to date